St Luke’s Church, more commonly known by locals as the bombed-out church, is a former Anglican parish church in Liverpool, England. It stands on the corner of Berry Street and Leece Street, at the top of Bold Street.
The church was badly damaged by bombs during the Liverpool Blitz in 1941 and has been a roofless shell ever since, giving rise to its nickname. It now stands as a memorial to those who died in the war.
Just a great guy with an MBE
In addition to being a parish church, it was also intended to be used as a venue for ceremonial worship by the Corporation and as a concert hall.
Plans for the design of the church were first drawn up in 1802 by John Foster, senior, the surveyor of the Corporation of Liverpool, but the foundation stone was not laid until April 9, 1811.
Building was finally completed in 1832.
The church was known as “the doctor’s church” because of its location
near to Rodney Street, the home of many doctors.
On 6 May 1941, during Liverpool’s “May Blitz“, the church was hit by an incendiary device that caused a large fire, leaving only the burnt-out shell of the former church. It has since been nicknamed “the bombed-out church”.
It has been decided to maintain the church as it is, a burnt-out shell, as a memorial to those who died as a result of the war. The church was designated as a Grade II* listed building on 28 June 1952. This is the middle of the three grades, which is defined by English Heritage as containing “particularly important buildings of more than special interest”.